//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Poll shows Huelskamp with big lead

Given the political climate of the 1st Congressional District, it’s no surprise that the latest SurveyUSA poll, commissioned by KWCH Ch. 12, shows voters overwhelming support Tim Huelskamp over Democrat candidate Alan Jilka in the big for Rep. Jerry Moran’s seat.

Huelskamp was the winner of the Aug. 3 primary election, taking 35 percent of the vote. He beat out five other Republican candidates for the nomination, including fellow state Senator Jim Barnett. The latest poll shows Huelskamp receiving 65 percent of the vote compared to Jilka’s 23 percent.

Jack Warner, who is running as a Libertarian, received 7 percent of the support, according to poll numbers. Five percent of voters poll were still undecided. 

The Jilka campaign is no doubt trying to gain the support of more moderate voters who saw their candidate’s run end Aug. 3. Huelskamp emerged as the most conservative candidate in the ran and campaigned on a list of conservative initiatives include pro-life, pro-gun and less government spending.

But the state’s republican party has signed a pledge to stand behind the Republican nominees from the primary and the overwhelming number of Republicans will no doubt present a tough environment for Jilka to win in.

About Katie Stockstill-Sawyer

I am a city girl that is learning about life on the farm. I met and married a fourth-generation farmer, Derek. I am now a farmer's wife and country girl. The move has required a few changes and a lot of learning. But I wouldn't change my new life and all of the little lessons and surprises it provides.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Poll shows Huelskamp with big lead

  1. I think I’ve already gotten to participate in as many surveys for the general election as I did for the primaries. I think I participated in this one.
    It is strange, because some survey people ask immediately if I’m affiliated with one of the campaigns, member of the media, etc., and since I’m in the media, I can’t do the survey. I can understand the campaign member reason, but why am I not allowed to participate? I usually assume these people are doing push polls and don’t want to be found out.
    Anyway, back on topic, the 65 percent is actually lower than I would’ve expected. I’m not buying anything Jilka is selling, and I hope others don’t either.

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | August 9, 2010, 11:24 am
  2. Who was the moderate choice in the primary? I must have missed that. And what’s the difference between Huelskamp and the man he’s succeeding? Have people forgotten the issues that Moran campaigned on? I’d be willing to bet we could take position statements from Moran and Huelskamp, throw them in a hat and you wouldn’t know which statement came from which campaign unless the name of the candidate, or their office was mentioned.

    Posted by altevogt | August 9, 2010, 7:39 pm

Leave a Reply

