//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Sources come forward on Moran quid pro quo allegations

Both the Topeka Capital Journal and the Associated Press are reporting that Rep. Roy Blunt’s former Chief of Staff, Gregg Hartley, along with other unnamed sources in Congress and the Executive Branch, confirm that Rep. Jerry Moran asked for a fundraiser with then Secretary of Commerce Don Evans in return for a vote on a trade bill granting the president fast-track authority. However, as stated in the story, none of the sources witnessed Moran making the request. Also worth noting is that Hartley is a contributor to the Tiahrt campaign.

Moran continues to deny the allegations, and ultimately voted for the bill, along with the entire Kansas House and Senate delegation.

The link to the story is here.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Sources come forward on Moran quid pro quo allegations

  1. Something sounds fishy in the Rove/Tiahrt/DC Insider camp.

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | July 30, 2010, 12:53 pm
  2. Good grief you are a shill, aren’t you? People who disagree with me don’t bother me, but the level of your dishonesty is sickening. Moran gets caught engaging in unethical conduct on multiple fronts and you accuse Tiahrt of wrongdoing? God, you’re pathetic.

    When this race started I was like several of my friends. I liked Todd a little better than I liked Jerry, but this campaign has definitely demonstrated what an outright liar and chameleon Moran is. Looks like I’ll be voting Libertarian in more than one race this fall if Moran wins.

    Posted by altevogt | July 30, 2010, 1:06 pm
  3. Mostly I’m just trying to annoy you altevogt.

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | July 30, 2010, 1:09 pm
  4. That may be all you’re accomplishing, but watching you trash any reputation you may have ever had for credibility is worth the annoyance. Although, I doubt you ever had any reputation for being anything but a liar anyway.

    Posted by altevogt | July 30, 2010, 1:17 pm
  5. Somehow, insults from an anonymous person don’t really hurt that bad.

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | July 30, 2010, 1:25 pm
  6. Except I’m not anonymous, but I do believe that the insult doesn’t affect you. You know what you are and truth obviously means nothing to you.

    Posted by altevogt | July 30, 2010, 4:55 pm
  7. Okay. Guess I should’ve Googled you earlier. Thanks for not being anonymous. I respect that.
    On your wiki, I agree with this quote from you: “‘I’m not interested in peddling some candidate like a can of Spam. I want to talk about ideas and issues.”
    I’ll try to stay more on topic – I have a bad habit of picking on anonymous posters because I have so many of them on my own blog.

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | July 30, 2010, 5:03 pm
  8. Umm didn’t I hear on the news that Hartley was alobbyist who has maxed out on contributions to the Tiahrt campaign….

    real credible…

    A donor and unnamed sources.

    Posted by kansas4ever | August 1, 2010, 9:52 pm
  9. They could have a signed confession from Moran himself and you wouldn’t believe it. You’d probably claim that Tiahrt’s staff had drugged him.

    Posted by altevogt | August 1, 2010, 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

