//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Wasinger: the nice candidate

U.S. House candidate Rob Wasinger today reminded his supporters that he is not only the jobs candidate, he is the nice guy as well. The Cottonwood Falls republican noted in a campaign E-mail that he has not taken part in the mud-slinging and has held true to his promise to run a clean campaign.

My opponents, who combined have given themselves over $485,000 in personal wealth, are flooding the airwaves with viciously negative attack ads.

Wasinger also adds that he doesn’t have high-priced campaign manager telling him to go negative and that running a clean campaign “comes at a price”.

Early on in the campaign, I signed a Clean Campaign Pledge and I’ve stuck to it. I’m running a clean, issues-based campaign. My television ads and my voter contact mail lay out my plan to revitalize rural Kansas and reign in an ever-growing federal government.

About Katie Stockstill-Sawyer

I am a city girl that is learning about life on the farm. I met and married a fourth-generation farmer, Derek. I am now a farmer's wife and country girl. The move has required a few changes and a lot of learning. But I wouldn't change my new life and all of the little lessons and surprises it provides.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Wasinger: the nice candidate

  1. Nice to see that he stuck with his pledge. Just one of several reasons I endorsed him today in the Washington County News. In a strong field of candidates, I believe he was the best.
    –Dan

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | July 28, 2010, 4:46 pm
  2. I think we are forgetting that the Mann campaign is also staying positive.

    Posted by kansas01 | July 28, 2010, 5:29 pm
  3. Yes I have not seen one negative thing from the Mann Campaign. I do have to say that I find the statement from Wasinger a little disingenious. Everyone in Salina received a robo call from the Wasinger campaign with what many believed was Rob’s aunt attacking Mann for his political donation to Slattery. Yes it’s come out that Tracey did give $500 in Slattery’s primary. But Rob’s robo call said he gave “thousands” of dollars. Then conveniently there was about a 4 or 5 second pause at the end before the disclaimer was read – “Paid For By Wasinger for Congress” which left many hanging up before the disclaimer came on. Smart, but slimey.

    Posted by mcphersonbulldog | July 28, 2010, 10:16 pm
  4. I live in Salina and received the robocall from Wasinger’s campaign- it was exactly as mcphersonbulldog described. I was so disappointed in him; his clean campaign pledge and the big deal he made about it was the first thing that came to my mind. I had been impressed with his campaign to that point, but lost interest after receiving the slimey call. Mann has made some mistakes, but he’s earned my vote by running a clean campaign, working hard, laying out specific and reasonable solutions to problems we’re facing, and not playing all these dirty political games I think most Kansans are completely fed up with.

    Posted by ks1voter | July 29, 2010, 1:00 am

Leave a Reply

