//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Mann explains Slattery contribution

With Tracey Mann’s recent success has come increased scrutiny, specifically dealing with a contribution he made to the Jim Slattery for Senate campaign in 2008. Other campaigns have latched on to this, painting Mann as being disloyal to the Republican cause, and supporting a Democrat over Republican Pat Roberts.

We reached out to Mann to explain the contribution, and received the following response:

“The Slattery’s are long time family friends. I don’t apologize for building relationships with people I disagree with politically,” Mann said. “I contributed to Jim in his primary race against his Democrat opponent, Lee Jones. I have contributed twice as much to Senator Roberts and think that he has done an excellent job representing Kansas both in the House and now in the Senate. I have discussed the matter with Senator Roberts, he understands family friendship, and considers the matter closed.”

Mann then offered some choice words to campaigns attempting to use this issue against him.

“This kind of negative campaigning does nothing to solve the problems that have put our economy and future at risk. I’ve put forward a more detailed and more rigorous plan than any other candidate,” Mann said. “If people want to talk about this contribution instead of their ideas and solutions, you have to question both the quality of their ideas and their commitment to the people rather than their own political ambition.”

Looking into FEC records, it does show that other members of Mann’s family supported Slattery as well in 2008, and that Mann did indeed contribute $1,000 to Robert’s campaign in February of 2009. Furthermore, FEC records indicate that aside from the Slattery family, Mann has not financially supported any other Democrat.

Also supporting Mann’s claim that Roberts considers the matter closed is a quote from Robert’s Chief of Staff Jackie Cottrell in a July 11 story from the Salina Journal.

Tracey long ago explained the situation to Sen. Roberts,” Cottrell said. “Sen. Roberts understands the issue of family friendship and considers the matter closed.”

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Mann explains Slattery contribution

  1. Can’t throw the mud, folks. Tiahrt’s campaign has proven it doesn’t work in Kansas.

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | July 14, 2010, 4:45 pm
    • Backroadsnewsroom – I can hardly wait until August 4th when you will finally be silenced. Although, since I’m sure your a democrat, your bs will probably just get worse.

      Posted by rex1980 | July 15, 2010, 8:58 pm
  2. If I’m a Democrat, then I’ve fooled a lot of people into making me the vice-chairman of the Republican Central Committee here in Washington County and as a delegate to the district meeting two years ago.
    Let me introduce myself (but I’ll keep it brief because nobody really cares who I am and this isn’t what the post is about.)
    I’m Dan Thalmann, owner of the Washington County News, a rural weekly newspaper in Washington County, Kansas. (Anyone who would have Googled Backroadsnewsroom could’ve figured that out.)
    I’m active in local politics, having served as precinct committeeman for two terms now and as county coordinator for a state elected official’s campaign. Ask ANYONE in this county (who cares about politics) about what kind of political leanings I have, and they’ll verify I am no Democrat.
    I lean far right Republican. I like Newt Gingrich, Glenn Beck, Sean Hannity and most of all Mike Huckabee. (And I’m not very happy that two of them endorsed Tiahrt, but I’m forgiving them because how can they really know what these two candidates are really like.)
    I’m most interested in severely limited government, national defense, social issues and a movement back to the Constitution.
    I don’t have a real problem with Tiahrt. I just like Moran better. I’m not going to blame Tiahrt for the actions of his misguided campaign director’s love of dirty politics. (I don’t even know, or care, who is campaign director is. I just think his style is unfit for Kansas culture and likely will be unemployable in the political arena for the rest of his or her career.)
    So when Moran wins the primary, and it will happen, I’m not going to get on here and taunt anyone (though that would be fun.)
    After primaries, I’ll be rooting big time for a GOP majority in Congress in November.
    And I don’t have a problem with Mann contributing to Slattery in the Democratic primary. Do you not have any friends who happen to be Democrats? You realize we’re all Americans first, right?
    Anyway, who are you?

    Posted by backroadsnewsroom | July 15, 2010, 11:45 pm

Leave a Reply

