//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Jilka completes tour

 

U.S. Congressional candidate Alan Jilka, the only Democrat seeking the 1st District seat, make his 69-county district tour complete with a sentimental stop in Washington County Thursday night. 

“I wanted Washington County to be the final stop in my meet and greet tour because I intend to serve my district in our nation’s capital,” Jilka said. “What could be more appropriate than going from Washington, Kansas to Washington, D.C.?”
Jilka, like all 1st District candidates, has made seeing all 69 counties in the district the litmus test for a true, dedicated candidate. 
Jilka has taken a little longer than others, some of which have made the tour twice. 
None the less, Jilka said the completion of the tour was a “milestone” for his campaign and has served as a learning experience. 
“Traveling to every county in the district has been an invaluable experience,” Jilka said. “I am thankful to everyone who took the time to stop in, share their experiences and concerns, and have a cup of coffee with me.
“Getting to talk with everyday Kansans and hearing their concerns helps me to focus on the issues nearest to the heart of rural Kansas.”

About Katie Stockstill-Sawyer

I am a city girl that is learning about life on the farm. I met and married a fourth-generation farmer, Derek. I am now a farmer's wife and country girl. The move has required a few changes and a lot of learning. But I wouldn't change my new life and all of the little lessons and surprises it provides.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

